The primaries have been announced

Earlier this evening I learnt that the dates of the Hertfordshire Police & Crime Commissioner primaries have been set.

This is very exciting indeed.  If selected to attend the primaries* I will be able to listen directly to the people of the county and start a conversation with them about what they want from their police service and criminal justice partners.

The great thing about the primaries is that they are open to all registered voters in Hertfordshire.  I assume that if you live locally and read this blog you have an interest in the future Commissioner and I would urge you to register to attend one of the sessions (I have inserted the relevant details below).

As I have made it clear previously I have no prior political experience so in theory I should be daunted by the prospect of primaries.  In truth, although even at this stage I have a sense of excited anticipation, this will be an entirely new experience for all of the potential candidates so we all start from a level playing field.  I look forward to the opportunity to demonstrate my passion for policing and my thoughts about how I can support the Constabulary and other organisations in delivering an excellent service.  It’s also not in my nature to be nervous!

The schedule is:

Tuesday 3rd July 2012, Broxbourne Primary
Wolsey Hall, Windmill Lane, Cheshunt, Hertfordshire, EN8 9AA. Time: 7:00 pm.
Pre-registration closes Monday 2nd July at 5pm. | Register

Wednesday 4th July 2012, Hemel Hempstead Primary
Adeyfield School, Longlands, Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, HP2 4DE. Time: 7:00 pm.
Pre-registration closes Tuesday 3rd July at 5pm. | Register

Monday 9th July 2012, North East Herts Primary
Icknield Centre, Icknield Way, Letchworth, Hertfordshire, SG6 1EF. Time: 7:00 pm.
Pre-registration closes Sunday 8th July at 5pm. | Register

Thursday 12th July 2012, Hertford & Stortford Primary
County Hall, Pegs Lane, Hertford SG13 8DQ. Time: 7:00 pm.
Pre-registration closes Wednesday 11th July at 5pm. | Register

If you are able to make one of these events please let me know you’ve been following my updates.  I look forward to seeing you there.

* You may remember from earlier posts that, if the plan for selecting potential candidates in Hertfordshire has not changed, then up to six nominees will be selected for interview by local MPs and party members.  I am yet to hear if I am one of the six selected so I have two hurdles to clear before attending the primaries.

3 responses to “The primaries have been announced

  1. Pingback: Tory PCC Selection Round-Up | TopOfTheCops.com

  2. Pingback: A Very British Coup? | TopOfTheCops.com

  3. Pingback: A Very British Coup? | TopOfTheCops.com

Leave a Reply

